NHA CPT and ASCP PBT compared, without mixing them up
The NHA Certified Phlebotomy Technician and the ASCP Board of Certification Phlebotomy Technician are separate credentials from separate bodies, with separate content outlines, eligibility rules and fees. This page states only what each body publishes about its own exam, and is explicit about the ASCP figures this site could not verify and therefore does not state.
Two credentials, not one exam
| NHA CPT | ASCP PBT | |
|---|---|---|
| Certifying body | National Healthcareer Association | ASCP Board of Certification |
| Credential letters | CPT (NHA) | PBT(ASCP) or PBT(ASCPi) |
| Exam format | 100 scored items + 20 pretest, 2 hours | Not stated on this site — see below |
| Fee | Set by NHA; see NHA | Application fee $155, non-refundable |
| Eligibility | Set by NHA; see NHA | Seven published routes, below |
| Content outline | CPT Test Plan, 2024 job analysis | ASCP BOC Content Guideline |
The blueprint on the rest of this site is the NHA CPT. Nothing from the ASCP outline is blended into it.
What ASCP publishes about the PBT
Taken from ASCP's own PBT credential page:
- The application fee is $155 and is non-refundable.
- There are seven eligibility routes, all requiring you to verify education, training and experience:
- High school completion plus a NAACLS-accredited phlebotomy programme
- High school completion plus a structured programme
- High school completion plus clinical experience
- High school completion plus RN, LPN or other qualifying education
- Certification
- Certification plus blood collections
- High school completion plus a California-approved programme
- ASCP offers both ASCP and ASCPi credentials with distinct eligibility requirements, and tells candidates to compare them before applying. Education does not have to be from the United States.
- Once submitted, the category and route of application cannot be changed, so choosing the right route before you apply matters more than it usually does.
What this page deliberately does not state
The PBT question count, time limit and passing score.
Those figures belong in ASCP's Content Guideline for the PBT. When we checked on 22 September 2026 the guideline PDF returned a 404, and the credential page does not state them. Other sites publish numbers for this exam anyway; we cannot confirm them from ASCP, so we leave them out rather than repeat a figure we cannot trace.
Get them from ASCP's Content Guidelines and Reading Lists or from ASCP directly. If you find the current guideline, the numbers in it are the authority — not ours, and not a prep site's.
Which one should you take?
That is usually decided for you. Employers and states name a credential, training programmes are accredited toward one or the other, and the ASCP eligibility routes are specific about what education counts.
If nobody has specified, the deciding factor is normally eligibility, not content. The underlying practice — order of draw, site selection, safety, specimen integrity — is the same work, governed by the same CLSI standards. Read both bodies' eligibility rules against the training you actually have, then pick the one you qualify for by the cleanest route.
Enter your exam date and weekly hours; we allocate time by blueprint weight × your weak spots.
Primary references
- PBT — Phlebotomy Technician — American Society for Clinical Pathology Board of Certification (ASCP BOC) · primary · retrieved 2026-09-22, verified 2026-09-22
- NHA Certified Phlebotomy Technician (CPT) — Test Plan for the CPT Exam — National Healthcareer Association (NHA) · primary · retrieved 2026-09-22, verified 2026-09-22